//
you're reading...
Geek Life, Literature

Lit Geek: Bookends

As a lit geek, I have a lot of books (mostly Romance and Young Adult), but very little shelf space. Not only that, but my shelves are old and ugly, and I cover them up with a piece of cloth. It’s not very aesthetically pleasing, but if I could, I’d decorate my collection with beautiful bookends all over the room – on the dresser, on tables, on desks. Here are some of my favourite picks I’ve found scrounging through the internet!

Peter Rabbit Bookends from TwoStrayCats on Etsy.

For those who love children’s literature or are nostalgic about their childhood, TwoStrayCats on Etsy has developed great bookends for great classics, such as Anne of Green Gables, Alice in Wonderland, and Peter Rabbit. In addition, there is also a set of bookends for Pride and Prejudice. Each pair is beautifully made with great attention to details. The greatest feature is the quotes from the novels themselves on the fabric.

Chess Pieces Bookends from Indigo.

I love these chess pieces. From the first moment I found them on Indigo.ca, I thought of how lovely and elegant they would look on my brother’s shelf. He used to play chess a lot, and there’s a sophisticated masculinity to the curves and lines of these pieces that any chess player would love. Every time I look at these bookends, I imagine a large chess game on a large checkered board. The set is beautiful, and denotes power and elegance.

UFO Abduction Bookends from KnobCreekMetalArts on Etsy.

Also from Etsy, KnobCreekMetalArts creates these simple and innovative bookends. Including the UFO Abduction bookends, there is also Tentacle Attack bookends, animal bookends and “geek” bookends. They tell a story from one end of your shelf to the other.

Portal Bookends from ThinkGeek.

Last, but not least, there’s a great Portal bookends from ThinkGeek. The pair looks absolutely brilliant on the shelf, and it even distorts your thinking pattern upon seeing it. These would be great, not only to hold books, but also game cases. They’re durable and well made.

About the girl reading a book

A girl who simply likes to read.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Us On Twitter

Follow Us on Tumblr

